Hair (Tutorial) Challenge

ALRIGHT, enough is enough.

This is getting out of hand. If I’m honest it has been for a while now.

I don’t know how much more I can take.

It’s getting to be about that time…

Time to cut my fucking hair off.

 

IMG_1348

I mean srsly look at this mess.

I’ve been growing my hair out for like 4 years, striving to get it as long as possible, simply because I’d never had long hair before.

There’s a fucking reason for that.

When you've technically had your hair in Dutch braids since last year…

A post shared by Charlotte Delautre (@harlequinharlot) on

Exhibit A.

I HATE IT. It takes forever to wash and brush, it looks like shit down (in my case and my opinion at least), and as far as bad hair days go, they seem to rear their ugly heads (GET IT) more frequently the longer mine grows.

IMG_1852

And good hair days (see above) require a level of try-harding for which I lack the energy.

I miss having short hair. I loved it. (And I think we can all agree it suits me better, if you were to pretend to have an opinion on the matter.) But the reason I forsook it is not lost on me: I wanted long hair, for once in my life, so I could learn how to style it.

Had to preserve this epic hair/makeup moment for posterity #fishtailbraid #smokyeye #spacepunk

A post shared by Charlotte Delautre (@harlequinharlot) on

Arguably, I did learn how to style it…Mission accomplished?

I blame the advent of the fishtail braid. And just…Pinterest. This is your fault.

 

IMG_1872

Braids 4 days.

I got caught up in the torrent of hair tutorials granted me by stumbleupon during the many hours of Asian Studies lectures I spent web-surfing, and now here I stand, master of the long outdated fishtail braid and its brethren, purveyor of long straw-blonde hairs that trail in my wake wherever I go.

That said: I’m gonna cut this shit off. Soon.

IMG_1218

The doe-eyed stare stays tho. Obvs.

BUT: before that, I wanna take it on one last spin (and dye it one more color, maybe) and explore just how much I’ve learned to do in the way of styling long-ass hair. This blog’s about to get hit with a shitton of hair photos (and perhaps tutorials where I see fit).

Hair game leveled up #mohawkbraid ftw

A post shared by Charlotte Delautre (@harlequinharlot) on

Like my take on the mohawk braid. Yay original content.

Brace yourself, Pinterest.

And then I can finally be done with it. 4 years of preparation and experimentation over. Back to short, easy, flattering hair.

IMG_1672

Not just hair that pretends to be short…

Or who knows, maybe this little exercise will renew my fascination with long hair, motivate me to do more new, interesting things with it, and convince me to keep it a little longer.

#hangover is a good look for me

A post shared by Charlotte Delautre (@harlequinharlot) on

I could always add to my repertoire of hungover hairstyles.

FUCKING DOUBT IT THOUGH.

In any case, this project is officially underway. Or, as officially as holding my own word to myself goes. Ahem.

My NuMe and I have some serious work to do. I’ll be back with photos that aren’t just sarcastic snapchats.

Later, hookers.

Blog Signature

Leave a Reply

